Skip to Main Content

Citing Scripture

Help in citing biblical passages and other scriptural sources.

Dictionary (Web)

Dictionary (Web) (From Bible Study Tools Online website; signed entry) Click here for help deciphering the elements of this citation.
APA	Schafer, G. E. (1996). Peace. In W. A. Elwell (Ed.), Baker’s evangelical dictionary of biblical theology. Retrieved from http://www.biblestudytools.com/dictionaries/bakers- evangelical-dictionary/
MLA	Schaefer, Glenn. E. “Peace.” Baker’s Evangelical Dictionary of Biblical Theology, edited by Walter A. Elwell, Baker Books, 1996. Bible Study Tools Online, www.biblestudytools.com/ dictionaries/bakers-evangelical-dictionary/.
Turabian	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Schaefer, Glenn E. "Peace." In Baker’s Evangelical Dictionary of Biblical Theology, edited by Walter A. Elwell. Grand Rapids: Baker Books, 1996. http://www.biblestudytools.com/dictionaries/bakers-evangelical-dictionary/ Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references): Schaefer, Glenn E. 1996. "Peace." In Baker’s Evangelical Dictionary of Biblical Theology, edited by Walter A. Elwell. Grand Rapids: Baker Books. http://www.biblestudytools.com/dictionaries/bakers-evangelical-dictionary/.
Chicago	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Schaefer, Glenn E. "Peace." In Baker’s Evangelical Dictionary of Biblical Theology, edited by Walter A. Elwell. Grand Rapids: Baker Books, 1996. http://www.biblestudytools.com/dictionaries/bakers-evangelical-dictionary/ Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references): Schaefer, Glenn E. 1996. "Peace." In Baker’s Evangelical Dictionary of Biblical Theology, edited by Walter A. Elwell. Grand Rapids: Baker Books. http://www.biblestudytools.com/dictionaries/bakers-evangelical-dictionary/.

Encyclopedia (Web)

Encyclopedia (Web) (Signed entry; No city of publication or publisher information available)
APA	Robinson, G. L. (1915). Samson. In International standard Bible encyclopedia. Retrieved from http://www.biblestudytools.com/encyclopedias/isbe/
MLA	Robinson, George L. “Samson.” International Standard Bible Encyclopedia, edited by James Orr, n.p., 1915. Bible Study Tools Online, www.biblestudytools.com/encyclopedias/isbe/.
Turabian	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Robinson, George L. "Samson." In International Standard Bible Encyclopedia, edited by James Orr. N.p., 1915. http://www.biblestudytools.com/encyclopedias/isbe/. Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical citations): Robinson, George L. 1915. "Samson." In International Standard Bible Encyclopedia, edited by James Orr. N.p. http://www.biblestudytools.com/encyclopedias/isbe/.
Chicago	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Robinson, George L. "Samson." In International Standard Bible Encyclopedia, edited by James Orr. N.p., 1915. http://www.biblestudytools.com/encyclopedias/isbe/. Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references): Robinson, George L. 1915. "Samson." In International Standard Bible Encyclopedia, edited by James Orr. N.p. http://www.biblestudytools.com/encyclopedias/isbe/.

Concordance (Web)

Concordance (Web) (No author or editor)
APA	Faith. (1995). In Strong’s exhaustive concordance: New American standard Bible. (Updated ed.). Retrieved from http://www.biblestudytools.com/concordances/strongs- exhaustive-concordance/
MLA	“Faith.” Strong’s Exhaustive Concordance: New American Standard Bible, updated ed., Lockman Foundation, 1995. Bible Study Tools Online, www.biblestudytools.com/ concordances/strongs-exhaustive-concordance/.
Turabian	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Strong’s Exhaustive Concordance: New American Standard Bible. Updated ed. La Habra: Lockman Foundation, 1995. http://www.biblestudytools.com/concordances/ strongs-exhaustive-concordance/. [Entry title only listed in Note] Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical citations): Strong’s Exhaustive Concordance: New American Standard Bible. 1995. Updated ed. La Habra: Lockman Foundation. http://www.biblestudytools.com/concordances/ strongs-exhaustive-concordance/. [Entry title only listed in Parenthetical Citation]
Chicago	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Strong’s Exhaustive Concordance: New American Standard Bible. Updated ed. La Habra: Lockman Foundation, 1995. http://www.biblestudytools.com/concordances/strongs- exhaustive-concordance/. [Entry title only listed in Note] Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references): Strong’s Exhaustive Concordance: New American Standard Bible. 1995. Updated ed. La Habra: Lockman Foundation. http://www.biblestudytools.com/concordances/strongs- exhaustive-concordance/. [Entry title only listed in Parenthetical Reference]