Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citing Scripture

Help in citing biblical passages and other scriptural sources.

Dictionary (Database)


Dictionary (Database)
(A dictionary found in Oxford Reference Online; unsigned entry)
 

APA


Grace. (2005). In F. L. Cross & E. A. Livingstone (Eds.), The Oxford dictionary of the
     Christian Church
(3rd ed., revised). Retrieved from http://www.oxfordreference.com/ 
      views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t257

MLA


"Grace." The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, edited by F. L. Cross and E. A.
     Livingstone, 3rd ed., rev., Oxford UP, 2005. Oxford Reference Online,
     www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t257.

Turabian


Bibliography Style (accompanies notes):

Cross, F. L., and E. A. Livingstone, eds. The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church.
     3rd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2005.
     http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/ENTRY.html?subview=Main&entry=t257.e2966.


[Entry title only listed in Note]


Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical citations):
Cross, F. L., and E. A. Livingstone, eds. 2005. The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian
     Church
. 3rd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press.     
     http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/ENTRY.html?subview=Main&entry=t257.e2966.


[Entry title only listed in Parenthetical Citation]

Chicago


Bibliography Style (accompanies notes):

Cross, F. L., and E. A. Livingstone, eds. The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church.
     3rd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2005. http://www.oxfordreference.com/   
     views/ENTRY.html?subview=Main&entry=t257.e2966.


[Entry title only listed in Note]


Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references):
Cross, F. L., and E. A. Livingstone, eds. 2005. The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian
     Church
. 3rd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press. http://www.oxfordreference.com/   
     views/ENTRY.html?subview=Main&entry=t257.e2966.


[Entry title only listed in Parenthetical Reference]

Encyclopedia (Database)


Encyclopedia (Database)
(An entry from the New Catholic Encyclopedia; signed entry)

APA


North, R. (2003). Sabbath. In New Catholic encyclopedia (2nd ed.). Retrieved from
     http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?&id=GALE7CCX3407709778&v=2.1&u=grov  
     34532&it=r&p=GVRL.newcatholic&sw=w

MLA


North, R. "Sabbath." New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd ed., vol. 12, Gale, 2003, pp. 455-60.
     New Catholic Encyclopedia
, go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?&id=GALE7CCX3407709778&v=2.1& 
     u=grov34532&it=r&p=GVRL.newcatholic&sw=w.

Turabian


Bibliography Style (accompanies notes):

North, R. "Sabbath." In New Catholic Encyclopedia. 2nd ed. Detroit: Gale, 2003.
     http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?&id=GALE%7CCX3407709778&v=2.1&u=grov34532&it
     =r&p=GVRL.newcatholic&sw=w.


Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical citations):
North, R. 2003. "Sabbath." In New Catholic Encyclopedia. 2nd ed. Detroit: Gale.
     http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?&id=GALE%7CCX3407709778&v=2.1&u=grov34532&it
     =r&p=GVRL.newcatholic&sw=w.

Chicago


Bibliography Style (accompanies notes):

North, R. "Sabbath." In New Catholic Encyclopedia. 2nd. ed. Detroit: Gale, 2003.
     http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?&id=GALE%7CCX3407709778&v=2.1&u=grov34532&it
     =r&p=GVRL.newcatholic&sw=w


Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references):
North, R. 2003. "Sabbath." In New Catholic Encyclopedia. 2nd. ed. Detroit: Gale.
     http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?&id=GALE%7CCX3407709778&v=2.1&u=grov34532&it
     =r&p=GVRL.newcatholic&sw=w