It is most important to first have an idea of what subject one would need to find articles on. Once a topic is developed, choose relevant keywords that reflect the language used to describe the topic. Then search your chosen database or the library catalog.
If an article is unavailable digitally in a database, or through Google searching, you will often be able to find the article in print through the catalog or you will be able to request it through interlibrary loan.
Making an interlibrary loan request is a simple process. Fill out the linked form (after logging in with your id number and name) and your article will come to you digitally in as soon as a couple days.
Examples to a few journal titles available in full text online are listed below. Click title to access publication. To find more online journal titles in full-text, search Ebscohost.
For assistance with better searching contact Fiona in the library.
The BJHP publishes articles and reviews on the history of philosophy from the ancient world to the end of the twentieth century. The journal is designed to foster understanding of the history of philosophy through studying the writings of past philosophers in their context and with sensitivity to issues of both philosophical argumentation and historical development.
Full Text: 03/01/1998 to present (with a 18 Month delay)
The International Journal for Philosophy of Religion (IJPR) provides a medium for the exposition, development, and criticism of important philosophical insights and theories relevant to religion in any of its varied forms. It also provides a forum for critical, constructive, and interpretative consideration of religion from an objective philosophical point of view.
Full text: 02/01/2003 to present (with a 12 Month delay)
The Philosophical Quarterly is one of the most highly regarded and established academic journals in philosophy. In an age of increasing specialism, it remains committed to publishing high-quality articles from leading international scholars across the range of philosophical study. Accessibility of its content is an editorial priority.
Full Text: 01/01/1974 to present (with a 12 Month delay)