Conception Research Guides: Philosophy Research: Journal Articles-Online

Searching Tips

It is most important to first have an idea of what subject one would need to find articles on. Once a topic is developed, choose relevant keywords that reflect the language used to describe the topic. Then search your chosen database or the library catalog.

Information about online journal articles

To look for articles, start in a database such as PhilPapers or Ebscohost. Cambridge Companions are also a good option for essays by scholars in Philosophy (see menu)
If an article you want is unavailable digitally in a database, or through Google searching, you will often be able to find the article in print through the catalog or you will be able to request it through interlibrary loan.
Ebscohost will tell you if we have the article in print and if you don't provide you a link to request it from another library.
If you find something in PhilPapers, check the catalog for the journal title to see if we have it.
If not, make an interlibrary loan request by filling out the linked form (after logging in with your id number and name) and your article will come to you digitally in as soon as a couple days.
Examples to a few journal titles available in full text online are listed below. Click title to access publication. To find more online journal titles in full-text, search Ebscohost.

For assistance with better searching contact Fiona in the library.

Philosophy Journals-Online Only

Analysis
Analysis, which was founded in 1933, is the most established and esteemed journal for short papers in philosophy.

Full text: 01/01/1996 to present (with a 12 Month delay)
International Journal for Philosophy of Religion
The International Journal for Philosophy of Religion (IJPR) provides a medium for the exposition, development, and criticism of important philosophical insights and theories relevant to religion in any of its varied forms. It also provides a forum for critical, constructive, and interpretative consideration of religion from an objective philosophical point of view.

Full text: 02/01/2003 to present (with a 12 Month delay)
Midwest Studies in Philosophy
Midwest Studies in Philosophy presents important thinking on a single topic in philosophy with each volume. Influential contributors bring provocative and varying ideas to the theme at hand. Recent volumes of Midwest Studies in Philosophy include Truth and its Deformities, Philosophy and the Empirical, Shared Intentions and Collective Responsibility, and Free Will and Moral Responsibility.

Full text: 01/01/1999 to present (with a 12 Month delay)
Mind
MIND has long been a leading journal in philosophy. For well over 100 years it has published the best new work in all areas of the subject. The journal continues its tradition of excellence today. The journal aims to take quality to be the sole criterion of publication, with no area of philosophy, no style of philosophy, and no school of philosophy excluded. Each issue also contains a selection of book reviews that summarize and evaluate some of the most interesting recent publications in the discipline.

Full text: 07/01/1996 to present (with a 12 Month delay)
Nous
Noûs, a premier philosophy journal, publishes articles that make standalone, substantial contributions. It ranges across the full breadth of philosophy and its history.

Full text: 03/01/1997 to present (with a 12 Month delay)
Philosophical Quarterly
The Philosophical Quarterly is one of the most highly regarded and established academic journals in philosophy. In an age of increasing specialism, it remains committed to publishing high-quality articles from leading international scholars across the range of philosophical study. Accessibility of its content is an editorial priority.

Full Text: 01/01/1974 to present (with a 12 Month delay)