Conception Research Guides: Philosophy Research: Reference Materials

Listed below are various philosophy reference materials in print and online. These resources can help you get started in your research by giving you a better knowledge of your topic overall. Reference materials can also give you ideas for other sources to look into when they cite their references. Check each encyclopedia entry for a bibliography. It might list a resource that is relevant to your research. To search for these resources, see the Journal Articles or Books tabs.

Some of the resources we have online are also in our library in print. Click the Find in catalog button for the correct call number.

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Oxford Companion to Philosophy

Oxford Companion to Philosophy
An assembly of 249 distinguished philosophers have contributed to The Oxford Companion to Philosophy to create the most authoritative and engaging philosophical reference work in English. It gives clear and reliable guidance to all areas of philosophy and to the ideas of all notable philosophers from antiquity to the present day.

Limited to one user at a time. Please close out of window when finished.

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Entries in the Routledge Encyclopedia are divided into an outline form that starts with a general summary of the topic. Check the bibliography link to see the authors references. Citation information is available at the bottom of the page through the Cite button

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy-Online Only

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy